The Eisteddfod

Standard

When I was not chosen
to be schooled in the ways
of the druid, then I knew.

The elders had seen promise
in my poetry, my prescience,
such clear sight in one so young.

I was named as Chief Bard,
and walked in time with druids.
Step – tap. Step – tap. Lungs tight.

A hush that stifled oxygen,
a resonance across centuries.
Now before my kinsmen, bardic cloak

about my shoulders, blood surged
into words. “Dragon. By Bonkers
and the Alien Squad, class 10A.”

Druids, by Bernard de Montfaucon (via Wikimedia Commons)

Leave a Reply

